Announcements and More

Racing On The Fourth!!

This week at Crystal Motor Speedway is a celebration of the Fourth of July with a full schedule of all six normal divisions and includes the annual fireworks display. Due to the way the government is handling the holiday, this will only be a one day show instead of the normal two day event. Adults are $15, kids 5-11 are $5 and pit passes are $25. Pit gates open at 4:30, grand stand gates open at 5 PM. Further information is available by calling the track office at 989.235.5200  The 2015 SCHEDULE IS HERE.

 Check out the Mustang Give Away by one of our sponsors, American Muscle!


We will be live streaming the races July 4th  starting about 7:25 or so and you can watch on your pc HERE or  HERE while I-Pad users can watch HERE The other link for I-pads or I-pods is here

News You Need! - A)The Michigan Traditional Sprints will return to CMS on August 15th after being rained out last week. B) Pursuant to tightening State and local laws, campers need to register to camp at the track. At this time, there is no fee but you must register. Both the grandstand ticket booth and the pit booths have the forms. C) All four wheelers, golf carts and or other forms of camp ground 'transportation' must be registered and have some type of identifying sign or number on them. Ask at one of the booths for more information!  

The track has plenty of primitive camping available.  More information can be obtained by calling the track office at 989.235.5200. The 2015 SCHEDULE IS HERE.

Our "R Word" list has topped out at over 1800 people so far. It has come to my attention that some of you did not get an email notification of the last couple rain offs despite asking to be added. A bit of research is showing me that I may have too many people on the list (over 1800 now) and Google decides who gets emails and who doesn't. To this end, I am breaking up the old list and making a second list to augment the first. If you did not get an email after signing up, please send me a new request and I'll add your name to the new list to make sure you get notified. Thanks. Let's get get the 'lost' home again! You can join our "R Word" list by sending an email or TEXTING to this email address: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  If you are on the list and your email has changed, drop me a note!
There was a modification to the rules concerning transponders. While it was changed in the rules, I failed to post here it here. This rule was modified April 21st, 2015. It says: "18. Transponders must be mounted on the right side and the back of rear axle and in an orange transponder pouch. If your transponder falls off you may not be scored and you will be responsible for replacing the transponder.Any racer caught trying to modify or deliberately changing location of transponder will be disqualified."  Check with your tech inspector if you have questions.
The 2015 rules packages are here: LATE MODEL, IMCA, PRO STOCK, STREET STOCK, and the GENERAL CMS RULES. The 2015 SCHEDULE IS HERE.

You can reach me at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. as you have been able to reach me since this site started back in 1993. I have or can get you the honest answer far more often than you can get it on FaceBook. You may find this hard to believe but not everything you read on FB is true.

For those that intend to have minors entering the pits, here is the minor release form to have pre-filled out. PLEASE NOTE! "Legal" people say you need to do one of two things. Fill it out and have it notarized or fill it out but don't sign it until you are at the track so track officials can countersign it. Other forms will be posted here shortly.


June 7 Results

Brandon Bayliss, IMCA Mods Feature Winner, June 7, 2014
Brandon B …
The Port City Race Car IMCA Modified feature event saw a major pile up on the second lap in turn one involving at least eight cars but most of the competitors were able to continue.

Brandon Baylis grabbed the lead with Chad Wernette fighting his way into second after being one of the crashed cars earlier. Ruesink, Johnny DeYoung, Jr, and Jimmy Hale Jr made up the top five.

AJ Ward began to move forward, breaking into the top five with six to go. Wernette began to motor his way beside the leader but in the process, they touched and Wernette was sent to the rear as the caution car. Baylis pulled away to a small lead and held on to grab his first IMCA Modified feature over Johnny DeYoung, Hale, Jr., Ward, Myron DeYoung, Brenten DeYoung, Ruesink, Mike Shanteau, Austin Wonch, and Vern Buskirk.

Brody Bowser, Kenny Playter, Chad Precord, and Hale Jr all racked up victories in the heats with B Mains falling to Brennan Hunt and Brenten DeYoung. 

Official Results - IMCA Modifieds, June 7, 2014

  1. Brandon Baylis
  2. John DeYoung, Jr
  3. Jimmy Hale, Jr
  4. A.J. Ward
  5. Myron DeYoung
  6. Brenten DeYoung
  7. Corey Ruesink
  8. Mike Shanteau
  9. Austin Wonch
  10. Vern Buskirk
  11. Kenny Playter
  12. Brennen Hunt
  13. Rusty Zeigler
  14. Chad Precord
  15. Chad Wernette
  16. Brad Stanke
  17. Travis Fisher
  18. Toby Steele, Sr
  19. Ken Zeigler
  20. Brody Bowser 

B Main

  1. Brennen Hunt
  2. Travis Fisher
  3. Brad Stanke
  4. Austin Wonch
  5. Robert Putt
  6. John Row
  7. Ashlee Scott
  8. Gerald Taylor
  9. Josh Gallagher
  10. Montana Bupp
  11. Kody Johnson

B Main

  1. Brenten DeYoung
  2. Mike Shanteau
  3. Vern Buskirk
  4. Toby Steele, Sr
  5. Tim Sooy
  6. Scott Glidden
  7. Christopher Diethrich
  8. Tyson Minier
  9. Brooke Ann Brasington
  10. David Doty
  11. Chris Higgins
Heat 1
  1. Brody Bowser
  2. John DeYoung, Jr
  3. Chad Wernette
  4. Brennen Hunt
  5. Travis Fisher
  6. Gerald Taylor
  7. Ashlee Scott
  8. Josh Gallagher
  9. Kody Johnson
Heat 2
  1. Chad Precord
  2. Myron DeYoung
  3. Brandon Baylis
  4. Brenten DeYoung
  5. Vern Buskirk
  6. Scott Glidden
  7. Tim Sooy
  8. Toby Steele, Sr
Heat 3
  1. Kenny Playter
  2. A.J. Ward
  3. Rusty Zeigler
  4. Brad Stanke
  5. Robert Putt
  6. John Row
  7. Montana Bupp
  8. Austin Wonch
  9. Brooke Ann Brasington
Heat 4
  1. Jimmy Hale, Jr
  2. Corey Ruesink
  3. Ken Zeigler
  4. Mike Shanteau
  5. Chris Higgins
  6. David Doty
  7. Tyson Minier
  8. Christopher Diethrich